Artist-in-Residence

The MKdW offers international artists whose existing body of work displays a connection with the museum’s profile an opportunity to stay on the island of Föhr to work and find inspiration.

A thatch-roofed, semi-detached house will be made available to them as a studio and place to live. It stands directly next to the museum complex in Alkersum. The duration of candidates’ stays are arranged individually, based on their working methods and their idea for a project.

Our programme is open: it is neither the duty of the artist to create a work related to the museum, its collection or exhibition programme nor is the museum required to provide an opportunity for a work’s exhibition or acquisition.

In addition to free accommodation, travel costs will also be paid for. Further details will be agreed upon individually depending on the duration of the stay and the amount of material involved or the idea for a project.

Candidates will be contacted and selected by the museum. There is no application procedure.

Person of Contact

Dr. Christiane Morsbach
+49(0)4681 74740-15
cm@mkdw.de

Artist-in-Residence

Das MKdW bietet internationalen KünstlerInnen, deren bisher geschaffenes Werk eine Verbindung zum Museumsprofil aufweist, die Möglichkeit zu einem Inspirations- und Arbeitsaufenthalt auf der Insel Föhr.

Eine Doppelhaushälfte unter Reet steht als Wohnung und Atelier zur Verfügung. Sie liegt unmittelbar am Museumskomplex in Alkersum. Die Dauer des Aufenthalts wird je nach Arbeitsweise und Projektidee des Kandidaten individuell abgesprochen.

Unser Programm ist offen: Es besteht weder auf Seiten des Künstlers/der Künstlerin eine Verpflichtung zur Schaffung eines auf das Museum, seine Sammlung oder das Ausstellungsprogramm bezogenen Werkes, noch ist das Museum gehalten, die Ausstellung oder Erwerbung eines Werkes in Aussicht zu stellen.

Es werden neben der kostenfreien Unterbringung die Reisekosten übernommen. Weiteres wird in Abhängigkeit von der Dauer des Aufenthalts sowie des Materialeinsatzes oder einer Projektidee individuell abgestimmt.

Die Kandidaten werden seitens des Museums angesprochen und ausgewählt. Es gibt kein Bewerbungsverfahren.

Ansprechpartner

Dr. Christiane Morsbach
+49(0)4681 74740-15
cm@mkdw.de