Tessa Verder

24. March 2019 to 13. April 2019
14. September 2019 to 30. September 2019

The Dutch artist Tessa Verder has been living in Berlin since 2006. Born in Vleuten, Netherlands, in 1967, she attended the Fotoacademie in Haarlem, NL (1989–92) and the Gerrit Rietveld Academy in Amsterdam (1993–95). In 2018 her catalogue Tessa Verder. Breeze of Light was published and we invited her to Föhr for a residency. Tessa Verder expressed the wish to spend spring and autumn on the island and we split up the residency, happy to comply with her request.

 

The means of photography are fundamental to Tessa Verder. Her passion belongs to the painted land, sea and mountainscapes of art history from the Renaissance to modernism, as well as to the corresponding real landscapes of Europe. Thus, the study of the originals, the photographs of the landscapes and the images accumulating in her mind on trips into nature result in something new. On the computer in her Berlin studio she generates the almost hyperreal and timeless-seeming, virtuoso conflations of her own repertoire of photographic images and the existing models from the world of art history.

 

“Part of the work’s appeal comes from the friction that is produced by combining painting and photography, with their differences in surface expression. The work seems highly real, and at the same time rather unreal, as if the realness has been pushed to the limit of credibility. ... If the places the artist has imaged do not exist as such on this earth, then she has to create them …” (Jurian Bentschoop, “Becoming Nature,” in Tessa Verder. Breeze of Light, 2018)

 

During her sojourn on Föhr, Tessa Verder went on to create new worlds. She enthusiastically seized the opportunity to study our collection in the museum’s storage facility and view many of the works from the Romantic period to classical modernism in person, only to then go out and scour Föhr and Amrum with her camera. Numerous landscape details in the pictures included our collection can be found out there in the exact same way. After the first part of her stay (24 March – 13 April 2019) she returned to Berlin with “sketches” in her head ". On 14 September 2019 she came to Föhr again and continued her work in autumnal light and weather until the end of that month.

Tessa Verder

24. März 2019 bis 13. April 2019
14. September 2019 bis 30. September 2019

Die niederländische Künstlerin Tessa Verder lebt seit 2006 in Berlin. Geboren 1967 in Vleuten, Niederlande, absolvierte sie ein Studium an der Hochschule für Fotografie, Haarlem, NL, 1989–1992, sowie an der Gerrit Rietveld Academy, Amsterdam, NL, 1993–1995. Im vergangenen Jahr, 2018, erschien ihr Katalog "Tessa Verder. Breeze of Light" und wir luden sie zu einem Residency hier auf Föhr ein. Das Frühjahr und den Herbst wollte Tessa Verder auf Föhr erleben und wir teilten den Aufenthalt, gaben ihrem Ansinnen gern nach.

 

Die Mittel der Fotografie sind Tessa Verders Grundlage. Ihre Leidenschaft gehört den gemalten Landschaften - See-, Meer- und Berglandschaften - der Kunstgeschichte von der Renaissance bis zu Moderne ebenso wie den diesen entsprechenden realen Landschaften Europas. So entsteht aus dem Studium der Originale, den Fotografien der Landschaften und den auf Reisen in die Natur in ihrem Kopf sich kumulierenden Bildern Neues. Im Berliner Studio generiert sie am Computer jene geradezu überreal und überzeitlich wirkenden virtuosen Verschmelzungen, gemacht aus ihrem eigenem fotografierten Bildrepertoire und dem bereits Existierenden aus der Welt der Kunstgeschichte.

 

"Ein Teil des Reizes ihres Werks entsteht durch die Spannung zwischen Malerei und Fotografie, durch die unterschiedliche Sprache ihrer Oberflächen. Die Arbeit wirkt einerseits äußerst real und gleichzeitig irreal, so als würde ihre Echtheit bis an die Grenze des Glaubwürdigen ausgereizt. [...] Da diese Orte, die in der Imagination der Künstlerin entstanden sind, so nicht auf unserem Planeten existieren, muss sie sie eben erschaffen." (Jurian Bentschoop, Becoming Nature, in: Tessa Verder. Breeze of Light, 2018)

 

Mit ihrem Aufenthalt auf Föhr erschuf Tessa Verder neue Welten. Mit großer Begeisterung hat die Künstlerin zum einen unsere Sammlung im Depot studiert, viele der Werke von der Romantik bis zur Klassischen Moderne unmittelbar in Anschauung nehmen können - um dann zum anderen hier auf Föhr und Amrum mit ihrer Kamera auszuschweifen. Zahlreiche Landschaftsausschnitte in den Bildern unserer Sammlung sind genauso hier vorzufinden. Mit "Skizzen" im Kopf ist sie nach ihrem ersten Aufenthalt (24. März bis 13. April 2019) zunächst nach Berlin zurückgekehrt. Vom 14. bis 30. September 2019 kam sie wieder nach Föhr und setzte Ihre Arbeit im Herbstlicht und -wetter fort.